Why You Are AWESOME!

Awesome!  Awesomeness!  You are Awesome! 

I love that word.  I guess it might have something to do with growing up in the 80’s, where  it seemed to become very popular, but for me it has stuck. I’ve recently been accused of using it too much and that’s what has spurred me on to write about it!  I use it for several reasons:   one is because “good” seems to be the new okay and okay the new not so good, but the main reason is it’s the absolute truth.

Definition: awe-some  [aw-suh]  adjective 1. inspiring awe: an awesome sight.

We are ALL an awesome sight! We  ALL come from inspiration, which means: in – spirit.  We have labeled ourselves as humans, but that’s really not what we are.  We are spiritual beings having a human experience.  It’s the same with our names:  we are not our names, they really are just our personal labels and  given to us by people we just met.  We are truly awesome, but most of us forget that fact, so I like to remind people as much as possible of what you really are. My hope is that if you hear it enough you might just start believing you really are awesome.

All growth and positive change happens through some kind of  positive reinforcement.  Nature does a great job on her own.  It’s us “humans” that need it the most.  So, please  everyone, you are truly AWESOME.  Believe it, it’s the truth, keep telling yourself  often and one day, all you will see is Awesomeness every where you look!

Just remember all words are not the thing itself (example: The word orange is not the color or fruit) Words are just signs that point to what something is.  It’s the energy we put behind the words we say that matter.  You know the saying… It’s not what you say, but how you say it that matters and what matters most is the talking that is going on between your two ears. So what anyone say’s to you, is really for them to deal with, what you say to and about yourself to yourself is what counts!

Our most effective way to live an Awesome life,  is simply to observe our inner talk, let it be, and focus on something that makes us happy.  Why not focus on being AWESOME?


38 responses to “Why You Are AWESOME!

  1. Yes, we are all awesome. For some reason over the years, our spiritual sense of self has been diminished to “being what we own” or “the success we have acquired”. Wrong, we are all children of God, made manifest in the highest form of awesomeness – I know there is no such word, but I like it anyway, so I am using it. I am not talking religion here, I am talking about the fact that we are spiritual beings having a human experience and we have the opportunity to not only inspire others but to honor ourselves too. Thanks for sharing.

      • Great. So we can make up our own new words because we are indeed awesome. So wonderful to hear all the comments and see the number of retweets. Very Awesome indeed. BTW, How do I get my avatar to show our twitter picture versus the design that shows up?

    • Thank you for the awesome words and inspiration here, William! I sometimes get too caught up in what I’m trying to say and when I’m feeling awesome the energy flows and the meaning is there, real, genuine and sincere. Tomorrow is an important day for me and stumbling across your site has given me fortitude!
      —L

      • I am grateful that my words, had a positive impact on you! Make your important day come out the way YOU want & don’t take it to seriously, let it flow! All the best on your big day… much love!

  2. Hi, William!

    I’m just as guilty for using the word, “AWESOME” a bunch. BUT I believe the same, the more you ise it with people, the more they have a chance at beliving it for themselves. Words are seeds, plant the good ones and water it constantly and you;ll have a person looking great inside and out!

    Love your inspiration!

    Keep it up!

    Laurie Popovich

  3. Indeed ~ we are awesome ~ just like every wave that arises out of the ocean is awesome ~ but sometimes the wave forgets its source, its essence. And needs to be reminded 🙂

    Thanks for reminding us today. You are awesome 🙂

    Kumud

  4. Agree with your logic. Words are not the thing. Until we put our energy behind them. We need to put our energy behind a strong, forceful, positive inner talk – and derive its full benefita.

  5. The words have the meaning that we give them. Our internal mantra is what we tell ourselves and in return, it is what we tell the world about ourselves. We attract what we sow. Great blog, William. Awesome-sauce! 😉 Cheers, my friend. Thank you for sharing this powerful message.

  6. First, let me say that I truly enjoyed this short read. 🙂

    With that being said, I agree 100% with your main thought. Using the word “awesome” for exactly what is, an adjective, conveys a way of self thought, which can help someone feel better about themselves, it gives a person a sense of pride and accomplishment.

    Wouldn’t you agree, that when you are told by someone else that you are “awesome”, your immediate thought process is that I am the “$hit”! So, my question is: why not use the word awesome more often??

  7. Awesome post! and Awesomely written. Love using positive uplifting words. I am a clinical hypnotherapist and words have power. Much prefer using words like awesome and my pleasure rather that the words “No problem”. When I say thank you and someone replies “NP”. I wonder if it was a problem? Much prefer someone to say my pleasure. Leaves me feeling great about the exchange. Have a wonderful weekend.

  8. William,

    Great blog post. You know I completely agree with these words. 🙂 What we say to ourselves greatly impacts our life. I believe everyone of us are awesome, some of us just need to discover that truth and truly believe it. If more people would, there would be more peace on Earth. 🙂

    Hugs!
    Joanne

  9. Wonderfully stated. So true, we really do need to pay more attention to our inner dialogue and focus on instilling positive thoughts toward ourselves. I grew up in the 80’s too, so I can totally relate ! Awesome blog, thankyou ! 🙂

  10. I agree, 100% and this is exactly what my practice is now. Since brain science can show that we are essentially making up the story of our life via perception, we may as well be AWESOME instead of telling ourselves we are awful….we are individually, uniquely Magnificent! So shine everybody, go ahead and SHINE!

  11. Remembering that we are AWEsome is one of our lessons coming here on Earth. Remembering that we are a part of something so great and yes lets say: AWEsome.
    As I have written about having FAITH, it is as you Williams mentioned it, not just a word. It is breathing it and feeling it with each and every cell in our physical body.
    Going through a day, one can not only see how many of these “wanderers on Earth” have still a way to go. Letting go of this old habits and illusion and remember the “AWEsemness” of us and all that is.
    So it is
    In love and light
    D x
    http://www.growing-awareness.blogspot.com

  12. I am in good company and so are you! Call it growing up 80s baby from Beat Street, breakdancing to Madonna lace gloves, singing “Lucky Star,” to now out of fashion Cross Colors… I love the word AWESOME and I use it often. My typical affirmation of something good-great is AWESOMENESS!! I loved the word is used over and over by my dear friend Po in Kung Fu Panda. We are truly awesome. Life is full of awesomeness and I am in awe that I have an AWESOME community. Thanks for shining your light, sharing your voice… truly AWESOME!

    ~Angel @luvenlightens

  13. It is a great word and very uplifting. Anything positive in my book is well worth it. William you are ‘awesome’ to write this very inspiring article. Best to you!

  14. Great post! Positive reinforcement and believing in ourselves is key to being happy and living a productive life, however, we also need to have the courage to sit down and take a close look at what is not so great about ourselves and muster the courage to change it. It is knowing the power within us to transform ourselves and overcome that makes us feel like a million bucks!

    Thank you for tweeting this!

  15. I firmly believe that what we put out in the universe comes back to us (good and bad) so I think our time is much better spent focusing on the blessings in our life than what we wish we have.

      • I cannot believe I have spent and wasted so much time being angry for things that happened to me in the past, and for having Breast Cancer (recently diagnosed.) There is so much to be happy about and so much to be thankful for. I am happy to follow you on twitter. I need the positive reinforcement.

      • You are so right, their is much to be thankful for… just realizing that fact is another great thing to be thankful for. So many live a life of regret are thankful for very little if anything, congratulate yourself for not being one of them. I’m honored that I can provide positive reinforcement to you and thankful for people like you who give it right back, we all need it and the more the better! Appreciate you, much love & +energy!!!

  16. You William are my new BFF! Those are my absolute favorite words, you can ask any of the bloggers that I have befriended so far. I’m usually dropping “Awesome” or “Awesomeness” in a comment, tweet or a post. Not to mention it’s hidden throughout my website as well. I’m sure a lot of people have been turned off by it, but I think that’s only because they truly don’t understand how freaking Awesome the word is. Or they’re just too stiff to want to understand. In which case, I usually say good riddens. Absolutely loved this post!!! Pure Awesomeness! 😉

  17. I am awesome because I love people and I cherish God because he has given me so much and I have made it through despite the f act that growing up I was teased because of my having Cerebral Palsy it wasn’t easy but I smile because I am beautiful just the way I am 🙂

Leave a Reply

